Border Police Unit

Background Information

Border Police Unit (BPU) formerly known as Rural Border Patrol Unit (RBPU) was established on 1st July 2008. At first, the Headquarters was at Emali, then later moved to Kanyonyoo in Kitui County, about 120km from Nairobi along Thika- Garissa highway approximately 22kms from Matuu Town.

Main reason for the establishment includes increased cross border crime.


To be the leading border security provider to all people in Kenya.


Secure border for all.


The Border Police Unit exists to contribute to national development through interdiction of terrorism activities, small arms control and reduction of cross border crimes within and a long our ports of entry.


Border Police Unit derives its mandate from the National Police Service Act, 2011 section 27(e) “Provision of border patrol and border security”, criminal law and other related legislations

Core Values

  • Loyalty.
  • Openness.
  • Accountability.
  • Responsiveness in provision of security.
  • Honesty.
  • Integrity.
  • Adaptability
  • Prompt and dignified response.

Core Functions

  1. Assistance to immigration officers in enforcing lawful duties along the borders.
  2. Detecting and deterring illegal entries and related activities including human trafficking, smuggling of contraband goods and terrorists illegally entering Kenya.
  3. Reduction of crime across border communities and,
  4. Conducting surveillance and reconnaissance along the border entry points to enhance border security.